Members of the Sponsoring Society, Ramakrishna Mission, of RKMVERI (Deemed University)

Composition of the Governing Body of Ramakrishna Mission (with Headquarters at Belur Math), which is the Sponsoring Society of RKMVERI (Deemed University) as on 28 August 2021.

1. Swami Smaranananda President
2. Swami Gautamananda Vice-President
3. Swami Prabhananda Vice-President
4. Swami Suhitananda Vice-President
5. Swami Suvirananda General Secretary
6. Swami Balabhadrananda Assistant General Secretary
7. Swami Bodhasarananda Assistant General Secretary
8. Swami Tattwavidananda Assistant General Secretary
9. Swami Satyeshananda Assistant General Secretary
10. Swami Girishananda Treasurer
11. Swami Achyuteshananda Member
12. Swami Bhajanananda Member
13. Swami Divyananda Member
14. Swami Jnanalokananda Member
15. Swami Jnanavratananda Member
16. Swami Lokottarananda Member
17. Swami Muktidananda Member
18. Swami Sarvabhutananda Member
19. Swami Vimalatmananda Member


Administrative Structure of RKMVERI (Deemed University)


Belur Math houses the headquarters of the Ramakrishna Math and Ramakrishna Mission (RKMM), under whose guidance and overall administrative control all the branch-centres of RKMM function. The actual implementation of policies adopted by the headquarters as well as activities flowing therefrom are for the most part supervised by the heads of branch centres who are appointed by the headquarters.

Consistent with this administrative structure, Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute (RKMVERI), with its head office located at its Belur Math campus, is administered through the following tiers: The Chancellor, being the General Secretary of RKMM ex-officio, is at the helm of affairs of the university as the President. The Chancellor’s Representative, who is an Assistant Secretary at the headquarters of RKMM, is to be the second-in-command to assist the Chancellor in the administration of the University. The Vice Chancellor, who will usually be a qualified and competent monk of the Ramakrishna Order, appointed according to University Grants Commission (UGC) guidelines, will be in charge of the day-to-day administration of the University and all its academic programmes and activities. Administrative Heads of the various off-campus faculty centres of the university, who will be the ex-officio heads of the branch-centres in which the faculty centres are located, will be in charge of the day-to-day administration of the respective faculty centres.

Chancellor (ex-officio): Swami Suvirananda, General Secretary, Ramakrishna Mission
Pro-Chancellor: Swami Atmapriyananda, Secretary, RKMVERI Centre, Belur Math

Board of Management of RKMVERI (Deemed University):

Board of Management reconstituted as per UGC’s revised Regulations (in Gazetted Notification dated 20 February 2019, vide Section 10.05).  Effective from 22 August 2021.

1 Vice Chancellor Swami Sarvottamananda Chairperson
2 Two Deans of Faculties (by rotation based on seniority) Dr. N. Muthaiah Dean, Faculty of Disability Management and Special Education (FDMSE), Coimbatore Campus
3 Prof. Tapash Dasgupta Dean, Faculty of Integrated Rural Development and Management (IRDM), Narendrapur Campus

Three eminent academicians as nominated by the Chancellor

Dr. Bimal Roy Former Director, Indian Statistical Institute (ISI), Kolkata and Presently Head, RC Bose Centre for
Cryptology and Security, ISI, Kolkata, & Chairman, National Statistical Commission, Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, Government of India
5 Prof Shrinivas Varakhedi Vice Chancellor, Kaviguru Kalidas Sanskrit University, Ramteck, Maharashtra
6 Dr Santanu Kumar Bandyopadhyay Former Animal Husbandry Commissioner, Department of Animal Husbandry, Dairy and Fisheries, Ministry of Agriculture, Government of India
7 A representative of the UGC Yet to receive the name from UGC

Two teachers (from Professors, Associate Professors) by rotation based on seniority

Prof. Sukumar Adhikari Senior Professor, Dept of Maths, RKMVERI
9 Dr. Abhijit Bandyopadhyay Associate Professor, Dept. of Physics, RKMVERI
10 Maximum of four nominees of the sponsoring Society Swami Bodhasarananda Assistant General Secretary, Ramakrishna Mission, Belur Math
11 Swami Atmapriyananda Pro-Chancellor and Secretary, RKMVERI
13 Dr. A. Santhosh Mathew, IAS (Retd.) Former Chairperson of National Council of Teacher Education (NCTE) and Former Joint Secretary, Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India
14 Registrar Swami Kirtipradananda Ex-officio Secretary of Board of Management


(Institution Deemed to be University declared by the Government of India under UGC Act, 1956)

Names and contact details of the Officers with effect from 1 April 2023 as per UGC (INSTITUTIONS DEEMED TO BE UNIVERSITIES) REGULATIONS, 2019 [Notified by University Grants Commission (UGC) on 20th February 2019]

Sl. No. Designation Name Contact details
1 Chancellor Swami Suvirananda

Phones Nos.: (033) 2654-5700/5701/5702/5703/5391/8494/ 9581/9681


2 Pro-Chancellor Swami Atmapriyananda

Phone No.: (033) 2654-9999

Email: /

3 Vice Chancellor Swami Sarvottamananda

Phone No.: (033) 2654-9999

Email: / /

4 Registrar Swami Kaleshananda

Phone No.: (033) 2654-9999

Email: /

5 Finance Officer Swami Atmeshwarananda

Phone No.: (033) 2654-9999