You are here:

Off-Campus Faculty Centres

The Faculty Centres are located in the branch-centres of Ramakrishna Mission in various parts of India and have been approved by University Grants Commission and the Ministry of Human Resource Development as 'Off-campus' Centres. As mentioned earlier, the University started its journey with one Faculty Centre at Coimbatore, and later on added more Centres. At present, therefore, we have four 'Off-campus' Faculty Centres, of which the one at Swami Vivekananda's Ancestral House in Kolkata is almost a part of the Belur main campus on account of the overlapping areas of research and teaching. Each of the other three 'Off-campus' Centres is devoted to a Specialized Faculty. At the Coimbatore Faculty Centre which was the first Centre of the University, a second specialized Faculty was started after a couple of years of the inception.
'Off-campus' Faculty Centres and the Specialized Faculties to which they are devoted:

  1. Ramakrishna Mission Ashrama at Narendrapur in Kolkata, West Bengal--Specialized Faculty: 'Integrated Rural Development and Management (IRDM)'
  2. Ramakrishsna Mission Ashrama 'Divyayan' Krishi Vigyan Kendra in Ranchi (Morabadi), Jharkhand--Specialized Faculty: 'Integrated Rural & Tribal Development and Management (IRTDM)'
  3. Ramakrishna Mission Vidyalaya, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu-- International Human Resource Development Centre for the Disabled--Specialized Faculties:

(i) Disability Management and Special Education (DMSE) and

(ii) General & Adapted Physical Education and Yoga (GAPEdY).

The present section gives a detailed account of these Faculty Centres, the courses that are being run there and the specialities, if any, of these centres.